About us

The Petroleum Development Authority of Sri Lanka (PDASL) was established by the Petroleum Resources Act, No. 21 of 2021, as the permanent, independent, statutory body entrusted with promoting and regulating all oil and gas exploration, development, and production activities in Sri Lanka. The PDASL stands responsible for ensuring the exploration and production of indigenous oil and gas resources are carried out using international best practices, adhering to robust health, safety and environmental practices and contributing to the socio-economic development and energy security of Sri Lanka. The PDASL replaces, but carries forth, the work of the former Petroleum Resources Development Secretariat (PRDS). 

Board Members

The administration, management and the control of the affairs of the Authority is vested in a Board of Directors comprised of four (04) eminent industry experts; nominated by the Hon. Minister of Energy, whose qualifications are prescribed by Petroleum Resources Regulations, No. 1 of 2021, and approved by the Cabinet of Ministers, plus five (05) ex-officio members as follows;

Mr. Surath Ovitagama

Petroleum Industry Specialist

Mr. W. J. Shavindra Fernando

Presidents’ Counsel

Dr. N. P. Wijayananda

Former Chairman of the Geological Survey & Mines Bureau (GSMB)

Mr. Shiran Fernando

Chief Economist, Ceylon Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Anton Perera

Acting Director General, Petroleum Development Authority of Sri Lanka (PDA)

Mr. Anton Perera

Additional Secretary (Development), Ministry of Power & Energy

Mr. Damitha Kumarasinghe

Director General, Public Utilities Commission of Sri Lanka (PUCSL)

Mr. Asela B Rekawa

Chairman, Marine Environment Protection Authority (MEPA)

Mr. K.A.A.S.K Perera

Additional Director General, Department of State Accounts, Ministry of Finance